Donald Trump: Clinton Not ‘Presidential’ Because He Doesn’t Like Her Voice

Hillary Clinton, presumptive Republican presidential nominee Donald Trump said at a Friday rally here, is not “presidential” because he does not like the sound of her voice during the Democratic presidential front-runner’s speeches.

“We talk about presidential. Do I look presidential? Do you think Hillary looks presidential? I don’t think so,” Mr. Trump told a morning rally inside the local basketball arena. “And I’m not going to say it, because I’m not allowed to say it, because I want to be politically correct. So I refuse to say that I cannot stand her screaming into the microphone all the time.”

Mr. Trump said he couldn’t watch Mrs. Clinton’s Thursday night rally on television because he did not like the sound of her voice. “That’s why I turned her off last night. It wasn’t that she was lying about me – I just couldn’t stand it. I got such a headache,” he said. “But I won’t say it, because I’m not allowed to say it, right?”

Mr. Trump is hardly the first person to gripe about the sound of Mrs. Clinton’s voice, a complaint interpreted by some observers as sexist.

Mr. Trump is viewed favorably by only 24% of women voters, compared to 62% who view him unfavorably, according to the latest WSJ/NBC News poll. By contrast, 34% of male voters view him favorably and 53% view him unfavorably.

Mr. Trump acknowledged he has work to do to win support of women voters. “Now with men I’m setting records,” he said.

“Have you ever seen numbers like this? The men like Trump. I’d rather have the women like Trump, I don’t care about the men, I want the women.” Mrs. Clinton and her campaign have sought to emphasize her advantage with women, selling a “women’s card” to supporters as part of a fundraising appeal.

Mr. Trump, to judge by his public remarks, does not view his criticism of Mrs. Clinton’s delivery through that lens. As he often does, to the crowd here he emphasized how he has “great respect for women, believe me.” Mr. Trump spent five minutes rebutting a two-week-old New York Times report about his interactions with women – longer than he spent discussing this week’s State Department inspector general’s report about Mrs. Clinton’s private email server. He said the inspector general’s office “did a big, big number on her.”

Leave a Reply

